Uber-healthy

Zucchini Spelt Muffins from Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan by Dreena Burton

I love Dreena’s introduction to this recipe where she advises, “Don’t let the uber-healthy name discourage you”!  I actually used yellow squash in place of the zucchini in this recipe because that was what I had on hand to use (and good thing too because one more day and it would have been in the pail compost pile), so I guess these are Squash Spelt Muffins

Here they are, right into the oven…

And here they are, fresh out of the oven…

A close-up (with melty banana bits!)


These smelled like heaven and tasted fantastic.  Really moist and fluffy and flavorful.  I think maybe the word banana should be somewhere in the name because it is one of the star ingredients and definitely one of the star flavors. 🙂 This was my first time baking with spelt flour and I was really happy with the results!

Also, because I was curious and sometimes do this, I figured out the nutrition information for this recipe.   Usually I only do a calorie count but with the blog in mind I decided to do a more complete profile.  This information is for one muffin out of a batch of 24:

92 kcal, 2.45g fat, 79.6mg sodium, 6.33g sugar, 2.04g fiber, 1.78g protein

I just realized I didn’t calculate total carbohydrate, but I was really just interested in the sugar content.  Anyway I think they’re pretty healthy!

2 thoughts on “Uber-healthy

  1. Pingback: Health is Wealth, And I Am Poor « A.Cook in the Making

Talk to Me--I Love Reading Your Comments!

