Simply Perfect Breakfast: Avocado Toast

850X315_g2_fb

Being pregnant has definitely affected my eating habits. For example, I’m not really one to eat breakfast first thing in the morning. I normally start with a some fruit or a smoothie around 10 a.m., well after I’ve arrived at work, and then follow it with more fruit or half a PB&J&B around 11:30.

Recently, however, I’ve been forced to get some food down first thing in the morning, as that’s when I take my prenatal vitamin, and I get really nauseated if I have it on an empty stomach.

Enter avocado toast, my new favorite breakfast, and also anytime snack.
 photo SPBreakfast003_zps47608162.jpg
I’m never NOT in the mood for this.

All you need to create this plate of perfection is a ripe avocado and a piece or two of whole wheat toast.
 photo MayFood5009_zps4f0d6984.jpg

I use one quarter of an avocado on each slice of toast; I find this to be a good ratio of fruit to bread, plus it’s economical because avocados are expensive, and this way you get four servings of toast out of each one.

Just scoop it out, spread it on, and season as desired. Cumin tastes great on this, but the combo I can’t get enough of is salt, pepper, and a sprinkle of Vesta:
IMG_3406
MMM creamy, spicy heaven!

If you’ve never tried avocado toast, now is the time. Bonus points if your toast has team spirit:
 photo SPFruitandSides008_zpsecdec240.jpg
GO PATS!!!

13 thoughts on “Simply Perfect Breakfast: Avocado Toast

  1. My favorite way to eat avocado toast is to mash it with some teriyaki sauce before spreading it on. I’m going to have to look into this Vesta seasoning though. It looks intriguing.

    • Vesta is absolutely amazing and I highly recommend it (if you are into spicy stuff–it’s hot!). But teriyaki sounds equally amazing…I will definitely have to try that!!

  2. I am a big fan of avocado for breakfast, I mash it and put it on crispbreads with some slices of tomato and I always feel like I’ve eaten well. I also sometimes mash it on top of my baked beans on toast…weird I know but its just yummy!

  3. Pingback: Feelgood Style | Sustainable fashion reporting, organic beauty tips, DIY projects + tutorials, + natural product reviews.

  4. Pingback: Eat Drink Better | Healthy recipes, good food: sustainable eats for a healthy lifestyle!

  5. Pingback: Essential Components of a Simply Perfect Breakfast | A.Cook in the Making

  6. I love avocado toast! A coffee shop near my house does it on toasted bagels (made locally) with cumin and fresh lemon juice, which is also a great combo!

Talk to Me--I Love Reading Your Comments!

