Fighting the Cold

Happy New Year!!!

In my head I like to refer to January 2nd as Apple & Carrot Stick Day, aka the day when I look around my office and see that everyone is suddenly eating a whole bunch of fruits and vegetables.

By this time next week, of course, it’ll be back to Handisnacks.  Or whatever other gross imitation of food the kids are eating these days.

Foul.

I guess I am not really all that different though since I started my day with one of these:
Spill the Greens 005

Greeeeeen smoothie–YUMMMM (set to the tune of the Red Robin jingle, in case my meaning wasn’t entirely clear from all those extra letters!)

My current go-to consists of 1 frozen banana, 5 frozen strawberries, 3/4 c. orange juice, 1 tbsp. hemp seeds, and about 3 cups of fresh kale.  Today I also added 1/4 c. water because it was having trouble blending.

I credit breakfasts like this for the extreme mildness of the symptoms I am experiencing from my current cold, which was a belated Christmas gift from my husband and/or sister over the weekend.  I am very fortunate to have such a strong immune system, and I’m going to need it, because this is what’s currently happening outside:
Evolve 2
If you look closely, you can see the flakes of snow zipping horizontally past the window pane.

Yes, we’re about to get hit with a big, fat blizzard up in the New England parts.  So I’ll be fighting A cold and fighting THE cold at the same time.  *chuckle chuckle cough cough*

The snow started overnight, has continued all day, and will continue all night and into the day tomorrow.  Supposedly there will be an accumulation of 8-15 inches just between the hours of 7 and 8:30 p.m. tonight!

My office is closing at 3:00 (20 minutes from now) so I’ll be heading home to do some pre-shoveling (for the non-New Englanders, this is when you shovel and salt your driveway and path before the worst stuff has even started, in the vain hope that this will make it easier to complete the rest of the snow removal once the storm ends) and soup-making.

I’ve got this Creamy Tomato Thyme Soup from Plant Based on a Budget in mind.  Grilled cheese on the side for H and Toasty Pumpkin Chickpea Fritters from Happy. Healthy. Life for me.  Photos to come!

I hope that, wherever you are, you are safe and warm!  

What healthy foods have you been enjoying to kick off 2014?

7 thoughts on “Fighting the Cold

  1. I too am enjoying a green smoothie challenge this January, and I find they are really great at keeping me healthy. I have been dong them on and off for about 2 years now, and the number of colds I get has dropped dramatically!

  2. Pingback: Beating the Chill | A.Cook in the Making

Talk to Me--I Love Reading Your Comments!

