Vegan MoFo Orange Week – Recipe Roundup

If you haven’t yet had a chance to do so, consider setting aside a moment for yourself today to remember those who lost their lives on this date twelve years ago.

MF4

There are so many wonderful recipes out there that utilize my beloved orange foods.  Today I’m going to first share with you a few excellent recipes I’ve recently made and recommend, and then highlight some other MoFo bloggers who are killing it with their orange creations!

Recent Eats
Arabian Lentil and Rice Soup from Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Arabian Rice & Lentil Soup 004

This recipe is yummy, warm, comforting, healthy food, using super-simple (and orange!) ingredients:
Arabian Rice & Lentil Soup 002

I served it with whole wheat naan, and ate it for 2 dinners and 4 lunches (not too shabby!).  I added chickpeas to it because I had some leftover from making…

Chana Masala by Vegan Richa (click for recipe)!
Chana Masala 2

If you’ve never made one of Richa’s recipes, you’re missing out.  She is an expert on Indian cooking and this chana masala did not disappoint!

I enjoyed mine over brown rice with chopped red onion and fresh cilantro.
Chana Masala 1

Sweet and Sour Tofu, adapted from Sweet and Sour Tempeh from Everyday Happy Herbivore by Lindsay Nixon.
More MF 001

I was so excited to make this recipe, not realizing that I did not have tempeh in the house.  So I improvised, subbing in frozen (thawed) pressed tofu and adapting the cooking instructions accordingly (for example, there was really no reason to boil the tofu for any amount of time so I skipped it and went straight to adding the sauce ingredients to the pan).

This is another super-simple, very tasty, and very healthy recipe that I will make again and again.  I ate mine with brown rice and broccoli.  And trust me, this is different from every other meal I’ve ever posted about because the broccoli was roasted instead of steamed.
More MF 003

MoFo Bloggers Do Orange

Check out this amazing-sounding Curried Red Lentil & Sweet Potato Soup by Elyse of 403 Kitchen.
IMG_5764

Or these Kabocha Fries with Buffalo Celery Ranch Dressing by Kristina of Spabettie:
DSC_6191

And I can’t forget the scrumptious-looking veganized Welsh Rarebit with Mushrooms by Becky of Veg Hot Pot:
dsc_2422

Finally, click over and have a look at the Brown Sugar Peach & Plum Tart from the blog Meet the Shannons.  While MTS is not actually participating in MoFo this year, I really want to make this recipe!  If I have any gumption left  this Sunday following Yom Kippur, I think it’ll happen then.  I know H certainly won’t complain.

7 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo Orange Week – Recipe Roundup

    • Thank you! I love your blog btw–as soon as I clicked over I was greeted by a picture of beautiful guinea pigs!! What’s not to love? 🙂

Talk to Me--I Love Reading Your Comments!

