Vegan MoFo – Orange Week Is Here!

MF4

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!  I spent mine in New Jersey celebrating Rosh Hashanah as well as Mom and Dad’s 30th wedding anniversary!

fam 002

It was a wonderful weekend spent with close family and friends.

fam 2

And of course, with this fuzz nugget:

fam 001

I didn’t have much time to cook, but Vegan MoFo was not far from my mind, and now it is Monday and I am ready to dive into MoFo Week 2, which for me is going to be a week of orange foods!

Not to play favorites or anything, but I have been a huge fan of orange foods my whole life.  Mom tells me that as a baby she had a hard time getting me to eat anything other than the butternut squash, carrot, and sweet potato-based baby foods.  Apparently I was one of those babies whose skin starts to turn orange around the cheeks!

These days I can add pumpkin and other kinds of squash (like acorn) to that list, as well as legumes like red lentils, which of course are actually orange in color.

Arabian Rice & Lentil Soup 001

Mmmm…red lentils!

Acorn Squash Curry
Acorn squash curry with tofu, from Lanna Thai Diner in Woburn, Massachusetts

And of course, there are orange fruits to consider! Oranges (obviously), peaches, mangoes…

Mo Orange 007Fresh-pressed juice from a juice bar in Red Bank, New Jersey…made from carrots, orange, and apple. Super-sweet and delicious!

What is your favorite orange food?

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo – Orange Week Is Here!

  1. Pingback: Dining out in style: Day 9 Round Up | VeganMoFo

Talk to Me--I Love Reading Your Comments!

